Birchwood Avenue

Primary School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search



The EYFS Curriculum


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a curriculum framework for children aged from birth to five years old in England. It sets standards for learning, development and care for children in early years settings, such as nurseries, preschools, and childminders. 


The EYFS curriculum is divided into seven areas of learning and development.

These are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design.


Your child's progress will be assessed against the EYFS early learning goals. These are specific targets that children are expected to reach by the end of the EYFS. We will share information with you about your child's progress and how they are working towards these goals using the Tapestry app (see Tapestry tab).


The EYFS curriculum is play-based and child-led. This means that children are encouraged to learn through play and exploration, and their interests and abilities are taken into account.


Parents can support their child's learning by engaging in play activities at home, reading with them, and providing opportunities for them to explore the world around them.


The EYFS curriculum also places a strong emphasis on building positive relationships between children and their caregivers, and promoting children's emotional wellbeing.


If you have any concerns or questions about your child's learning and development, you should speak to your child's class teacher. They will be able to provide you with information and support, and may be able to refer you to other services if necessary.